

The meeting called to order by Chairperson Ahlawat at 3:10PM

I. Welcome – Chair Sucheta Ahlawat [C-SA]

Chair Sucheta Ahlawat [C-SA] welcomed all Senators to the new Academic Year.

II. Approval of the 20 June Retreat Minutes

Motion to Approve – Donald Marks [DM]

Second Motion to Approve – Maria Ingelmo [MI]

Vote to Minutes: Approve: 21 Yeah – 1 Abstain.

Minutes Approved.

III. Senate Photographs

C-SA relayed that today was just a plenary session, and we would be having photographs of the serving Senators done during this period. Existing Senator Head shots will be circulated around, with new one available in UR by appointment.

IV. Discussion of Senate Priorities for the Year

C-SA outlined items for further discussion at future Senate Meetings. These included creating a value proposition for our students; what is in their best interests. Another area of discussion was to have earlier input from the Senate on proposed academic initiatives. An example being the division of General Education & Interdisciplinary Studies and its effect on representation on committees. She invited the Senate to forward topics of interest so that they can be included in these discussions.

IV. Format of Senate Meetings

Discussion was held on the merits of in person versus hybrid meeting formats, with the pros & cons of each. Finally, a motion was raised [Donald marks [DM]] to have all future Senate meetings be in person for the Senators (with a proxy allowed if notified in advance of absence) and a live stream of the meeting to be available to the University community, with of course, all meeting being open to the



University public as well to attend.

This motion was seconded by Kathleen Curran. It carried with a unanimous vote of 22 to 0.

The Meeting adjourned at 3:45PM for photography of the present Senators.



Senators in attendance:

Sena	itors in attendance:	
1	Mukul Acharya	A
2	Sucheta Ahlawat	Р
3	Craig Anderson	Р
4	Stephanie Baker	Р
5	Charles Boateng	Р
6	Consuelo Bonillas	A
7	Sharon Boyd-Jackson	Р
8	Dean Casale	Р
9	Kathleen Curran	Р
10	Gilda DelRisco	Р
11	Ronald Dowdell	Α
12	Rachel Evans	Р
13	Daniel Gover	Р
14	Aaron Gubi	Α
15	Matthew Halper	Р
16	Maria Ingelmo	Р
17	George Kolodiy	A
18	Craig Konyk	Р
19	Barbara Lee	Р
20	Holly Logue	Р
21	Walter Mack	A
22	Don Marks	Р
23	Marguerite Mayhall	Α
24	Judy Pena	Р
25	Nicole Rodriguez	Α
26	Andrea Rosa	Р
27	Dina Rosen	Р
28	Benito Sanchez	Р
29	Gail Verdi	Р
30	Jane Webber	Р
		•

P = Present

A = Absent

E = Excused



Student Representatives:

1	
2	

Guests:

1	Dr. Salvatore – Senior VP			
2	Joy Moskovitz – Assoc. VPAA			
3	Robyn Roebuck – VPAA Off.			
4				
5				
6				
7				
8				
9				
10				
11				
12				
13				
14				
15				