Writing Emphasis Committee Meeting 11/8/21 at 3:30 PM EST

Agenda:	Members (Present in Bold):
Open Meeting	Eman Arafa
Approve Minutes from 10/25/21	Linda Cahir
Review and Finalize Draft Charges	Linda Cifelli
Next Steps for Committee	Zahava L. Friedman
Adjourn Meeting	Min-Chung (Amanda) Han
	Marshall Hayes
	Lucas Kirby
	Agie Markiewicz-Hocking
	Brian Oakes
	Byeonghwa Park
	Ray Viglione
	Darion Washington

## "Unofficial" Meeting Notes:

Linda Cifelli (Chair) and Agie Markiewicz-Hocking (Vice Chair) convened the meeting at 3:30 PM. The committee did not reach a quorum of voting members.

Approval of minutes from the 10/25/21 meeting was tabled until the next meeting.

Since Agie is not a voting member, we clarified that her role on the committee is "Vice Chair Pro Tem."

Since the deadline for submitting our finalized list of proposed charges to Craig Donovan is November 15, the committee members in attendance completed a review and discussion of the draft charges in our shared Google Doc.

Linda Cahir suggested that we not add course requirements, but instead add a course statement. We further discussed leaving verbiage from charges open, rather than being discipline specific. Several final revisions were made to the proposed charges Google Doc according to the current discussion.

Since we did not have a quorum, we discussed plans for putting approval of the proposed charges to a virtual vote, so that we could submit the proposed charges to the University Senate before the deadline.

Moving forward, we also discussed administering a survey to the departments to see what courses they want to keep as WE courses.

We also discussed surveying committee members to see what day would work best for Spring 2022 meetings.

Additional note: Kathryn Inskeep has been removed from our membership roster; Dr. Inskeep no longer works at Kean University.